Nash County Public Schools announced its newest slate of top educators this week.

School district officials announced in a statement that Cle’Andria Boone had been selected as the 2021-22 Teacher of the Year and Timothy Mudd was chosen as Principal of the Year.

These educators learned of their award Friday during a private event.

“Top educators, administrators, board of education members and community partners traditionally gather at Rose Hill Conference Center to honor various Nash County Public Schools educators, however for the last two years the annual event has taken on new twists,” Christine Catalano, executive director of communication, planning and engagement for the school district, said in a news release announcing the winners.

“As with many other traditional mass gatherings, the normal celebration over a meal and awards ceremony had to be canceled due to COVID-19-related restrictions on such events. In its place, district leaders coordinated a limited in-person event that maintained social distancing guidelines but still allowed honorees to celebrate together,” she said.

Boone teaches at Williford Elementary School. She also was the Nash County Public Schools Elementary Teacher of the Year.

“Her obvious surprise and excitement was captured during the event as Graham Nelson of Davenport Honda presented her with the keys to a brand new Honda Accord,” Catalano said in the statement.

Each year, the Nash County Public Schools Teacher of the Year is typically presented with a free one-year lease to a new vehicle courtesy of the Rocky Mount dealership.

Other finalists for the Nash County Public Schools Teacher of the Year honor included Nash County Middle School Teacher of the Year Amy Minchew and High School Teacher of the Year Stephanie Summerlin. Minchew teaches at Nash Central High School and Summerlin teaches at Northern Nash High School.

Mudd, who won top honors as the 2021-22 Nash County Public Schools Principal of the Year, is a middle school principal serving at Red Oak Middle School.

Other finalists for that honor included Yolanda Wiggins, Nash County Elementary Principal of the Year, and Jennifer Sharpe, Nash County High School Principal of the Year. Wiggins leads Winstead Avenue Elementary School while Sharpe serves as head of the Nash-Rocky Mount Early College High School, Catalano said in her statement.

Megan Bain, an assistant principal at Southern Nash High School, was honored as the 2021-22 Nash County Public School Assistant Principal of the Year. Leo Nieves, assistant principal at Benvenue Elementary School, and Ginger Carey, an assistant principal at Southern Nash Middle School, also were finalists for that award.

The 2021-22 Nash County New Teacher of the Year is De’Nasia Pitchford, a teacher at Nash Central High School. Other finalists for this category included Kaitlyn Miles of Edwards Middle School, Somer Love Delbridge of Nashville Elementary School and Taylor Strickland of Red Oak Elementary School.