Early voting for many area municipal elections is scheduled to begin at 8 a.m. Thursday and end at 3 p.m. on Oct. 30.

Residents of Nash County towns where elections are being held and early voting is allowed can vote at the Nash County Agriculture Center at 1006 Eastern Ave. in Nashville prior to Election Day on Nov. 2.

Residents of Pinetops and Sharpsburg can vote at the Edgecombe County Board of Elections Office at 201 St. Andrews Street in Tarboro.

Early voting will take place from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Mondays through Fridays in both counties. The polls also will be open from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 30, which is the final day of early voting.

The Town of Nashville has two council seats open, and three candidates have filed. The council seats held by Kate Burns and Larry Taylor are up for election this year, and both candidates filed to seek re-election. Eddie Thomas also has thrown his hat in the ring for a seat on the town council.

In Spring Hope, Mayor Buddy Gwantley did not file for re-election this year. However, Town Commissioner Prudence Wilkins and newcomer Kyle Pritchard filed to run for that office.

Seven Spring Hope residents filed to run for election to four open seats on the town board.

Spring Hope Commissioners Brent Cone, Drew Griffin and Ricky Tucker filed for re-election. Wilkins’ term was not set to expire until 2023. Since she is running for mayor, that seat is open this year as well.

Four newcomers filed to run in the Spring Hope commissioners race: Eric Gainey, Jason Himmelright, Tony Jeffreys and Dap Dunston.

The Town of Red Oak has a race on its hands this year with two seats opening up and three candidates vying to fill them. Red Oak Mayor Levell Langley is seeking re-election and faces no challengers.

Red Oak Town Commissioner Sandra Russ, who was appointed to fill Barbara Tyre’s seat in November 2020, filed to run for election to retain that seat. Red Oak Town Commissioner Craig New also filed to run. But they face a challenger in the form of Todd Mallory.

Middlesex Mayor LuHarvey Lewis Jr. filed for re-election and faces a challenger as Arnold Vick also filed to run for the position. Middlesex Town Commissioners Harold Meacombs and Ann Mitchell Lewis also filed for re-election to their seats.

Two seats are opening up on the Bailey Board of Commissioners. The seats now filled by Shelley B. Carroll and Dwan Hope Finch are up for grabs this year and neither commissioner filed for re-election. However, Dillon Bissette and Richard Wilson filed to run for the board and are set to fill those seats barring a large write-in vote.

Castalia Mayor James Edward Alston filed to run for re-election and is unopposed. Castalia Commissioner Brian Hinkle also filed for re-election to the board. Melissa Parrish Hinkle and Sadie Harvey Atkinson also filed to run to be Castalia commissioners and will likely fill the two vacant seats on that board unless they are defeated by write-in votes.

In Dortches, three positions are open this year, but all the incumbents filed for re-election and face no challengers. Dortches Mayor Jackie B. Vick and Town Commissioners Bruce Smith and Boyce Varnell will likely retain their seats.

Two town commissioner seats are also on the ballot in Momeyer and both incumbents filed for re-election. Richard Matthews and Martha Lucas look set to retain their seats on the board barring a major write-in vote.

Two commissioner seats in Pinetops are up for election this year and five candidates filed to run. Incumbent commissioners Barbara Jean Taylor and Donald Earl Webb filed to run for re-election. Three other residents — Marshall Harrell, Wanda Williams Harrison and Brian Phillips — are also expected to be on the ballot.

The Town of Sharpsburg, which is in Nash, Edgecombe and Wilson counties, also has some contested races this year as the mayor faces a challenger and four town residents filed to fill two open seats on the board of commissioners.

Sharpsburg Mayor Robert Williams filed for re-election and faces a challenge from Randy Weaver. Sharpsburg Town Commissioners Randall Collie and Beverly K. Davis have also filed for re-election. However, residents Mike Hughes and Becky Humphrey also filed to seek spots on the Sharpsburg Board of Commissioners.

Municipal elections in Rocky Mount, Tarboro and Princeville that normally would have been held in November were postponed due to a delay in the release of updated population numbers by the U.S. Census that pushed back the drawing of new election districts. Those elections have been rescheduled for March 2022.

Absentee or early voting is not being offered for the elections in Castalia, Dortches, Momeyer, Whitakers, Conetoe, Macclesfield or Whitakers.