Skip to main content

Feature Stories

Nash Central High School 11th-grade student Camryn Eley recently won the Halifax Resolves Chapter of the N.C. Sons of the American Revolution Knight Essay contest.

For the tenth year in a row, recent graduates of Edgecombe Community College’s Practical Nursing program achieved perfection on their national licensure exams.

Much has been written about inflation this year — and no doubt, you have also read an article or two about inflation’s silver lining, the potential for better returns on certain fixed-income investments given the chance of higher interest rates in the near future.

The Tarboro Community Development Corp.’s gifting program, “Snow Fall,” culminated with joy and happiness when children of over 30 families received gifts that were purchased by sponsors within the community on Dec. 23, 2021, at St. Paul Missionary Baptist Church.

N.C. Wesleyan College sophomore Zachary Scott was one of 10 students who attend private colleges in North Carolina to recently be awarded a $2,000 Criminal Justice Scholarship from the N.C. Sheriffs’ Association and N.C. Independent Colleges and Universities

The Rev. Leonard Fairley, resident bishop of the N.C. Conference of the United Methodist Church, will be the guest preacher for an area wide worship service at 3 p.m. on Jan. 23, 2022, in the Dunn Center at N.C. Wesleyan College.

Nash Community College’s Human Services Technology program worked with Nash County Department of Social Services again this year for a service project where students each adopted a teen in foster care for Christmas.

Latest e-Edition

Special Editions

Larry D. Turner recently was sworn in as the inspector general of the U.S. Department of Labor, following his nomination by the president and confirmation by the U.S. Senate.

The Sisters With A Vision Women’s Ministry fulfilled Christmas wishes for two children in Edgecombe County Department of Social Services foster care and two students from the Edgecombe County unit of the Boys and Girls Clubs of the Tar River Region.

The Edgecombe-Nash Retired School Personnel awarded its 2020-21 Education Scholarship to Grace Reams, a student in the second year of the college transfer program at Nash Community College.

Support local journalism

Now, more than ever, the world needs trustworthy reporting—but good journalism isn’t free. Please support us by making a contribution.