PREP FOOTBALL ROUNDUP: State Championship Saturday

The Associated Press

0 Comments | Leave a Comment

4-A Final: Greensboro Dudley 24, Scotland County 7

RALEIGH – Lamarc Watlington rushed for 160 yards and two touchdowns, and Greensboro Dudley beat Scotland County, 24-7, on Saturday in the Class 4-A NCHSAA championship game.

Watlington scored on runs of six and two yards, and quarterback Emmanuel Mosley added a 3-yard touchdown run for Dudley (15-0), which won its third state title since 2007 by outrushing Scotland County, 272-31.

Dudley held a 301-113 advantage in total yardage. Scotland County (15-1), which won the 2011 state title, led, 7-0, when Brandon McMillian returned a fumble 79 yards for a touchdown with 7:35 remaining in the first quarter.

3-A Final: Havelock 21, Concord 13

RALEIGH – Derrell Scott ran for 209 yards and three touchdowns Saturday to help Havelock beat Concord win its third straight state championship.

The Rams trailed, 10-0, early in the second quarter before Scott, who was named MVP, broke free for a 51-yard score, the first of three straight.

Scott scored on a 20-yard run late in the half, then had a 96-yard touchdown run midway through the third that gave the Rams a 21-10 lead on the way to their 30th straight win.

It marked the second straight year Havelock beat Concord in the 3-A final.

2-A Final: Shelby 29, Southwest Onslow 7

CHAPEL HILL – R.J. George threw for 171 yards and a touchdown Saturday to help Shelby knock off defending champ Southwest Onslow in its first finals appearance since 2007.

George was named the game’s most valuable player for the Golden Lions (12-4), who built a big first-half lead and never looked back.

Shelby also blocked three punts, with Antwan Wright’s block in the second giving Shelby the ball at the 1 and setting up Chad Reid’s short score to make it 27-7.

1-AA Final: Warsaw Kenan 42, West Montgomery 14

WINSTON-SALEM – Marcelias Sutton rushed for 186 yards and two touchdowns, and Warsaw James Kenan won its second title since 2007.

Quarterback Dominique Barnes had a pair of one-yard scoring runs, and JaQuan Williams added 174 yards rushing and a 67-yard touchdown to help Kenan (15-0).

Sutton scored on runs of 16 and one yard for run-based Kenan, which gained all 433 of its yards on the ground and missed on its only pass attempt.

1-A Final: Murphy 35, Plymouth 34

WINSTON-SALEM – Kenton Braswell ran for 150 yards and two touchdowns Saturday to help Murphy hold off Plymouth.

Braswell scored the go-ahead touchdown on a 13-yard run with 4:56 to play for the Bulldogs (13-3) and was named the game’s most valuable player.

Plymouth (14-1) made a late push to tie it when Malik Webb connected with Demarkus Price for a 21-yard touchdown with 36 seconds remaining. But Murphy’s defense stopped Demetrius Davis’ rush for the 2-point conversion to secure the victory.

Deion Johnson added 112 yards rushing and a score for Murphy, which won its seventh championship and avenged last year’s title-game loss to Plymouth.


2-AA Final: High Point Andrews 18, Monroe 14

CHAPEL HILL – Lamar Raynard’s 38-yard touchdown pass to Carlos Manning with 1:04 remaining helped T.W. Andrews beat Monroe, winning its 14th straight game.

Raynard threw three touchdown passes for Andrews (14-1), which won its third state title and first since 1991.

Marquell Cartwright rushed for 179 yards for Andrews, which beat its previous 13 opponents by an average of 41 points.

Chase Bynum rushed for 131 yards for Monroe (11-4). His 12-yard touchdown run with 6:03 remaining put the Redhawks ahead, 14-12.

Monroe advanced to the T.W. Andrews 27 before Devon Underwood’s game-ending sack of Zephaniah Wall.