Sharpsburg residents head to polls for town elections

0 Comments | Leave a Comment

The first municipal election in Nash County is set to kick off today in Sharpsburg, a town that lies at the intersection Nash, Wilson and Edgecombe counties.

Former Sharpsburg commissioner Troy Jenkins as well as Planning Board Member Linda Virgil will seek to oust three incumbent commissioners in an election that wasn’t delayed due to statewide redistricting.

Incumbents Randy Weaver, Wilbur Etheridge and Raymond Moore have been outspoken about improving the town’s infrastructure, completing a $4.5 million sewer renovation project as well as drawing more businesses to Sharpsburg in an effort to spur economic development.

Candidates are elected at-large as opposed to districts that change with the data gathered from the 2010 U.S. Census.

Voters who haven’t already participated in early voting can cast their ballots today from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. at the Sharpsburg Town Hall.