ECC honor society inducts 24 students

From Contributed Reports

0 Comments | Leave a Comment

Edgecombe Community College’s Alpha Omega Nu chapter held its fall Phi Theta Kappa induction on the Tarboro campus recently. A total of 24 students became members.

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society for students attending two-year schools.

The guest speaker at the induction ceremony was Tim King, director of respiratory therapy clinical education, respiratory therapy instructor, and 2012-13 Keihin Endowed Faculty Chair holder at ECC. He spoke about competition and pride, purpose, passion, and pursuit.

Fall 2012 Phi Theta Kappa inductees are:

  • Lindale Harrison of Battleboro
  • Luke White of Bunn
  • Eyob H. Wakene of Greenville
  • Aliya Sanderson of Macclesfield
  • Cassie Jeans of Nashville
  • Lucy Haley of Oxford
  • Rachell M. Taylor of Pinetopes
  • Shawannah N. Battle of Rocky Mount
  • Tunisia L. Bullock of Rocky Mount
  • Darlene D. Godwin of Rocky Mount
  • Nina S. Sinclair of Rocky Mount
  • Christie T. Strickland of Rocky Mount
  • Rebecca L. Taylor of Rocky Mount
  • Mary Thorne of Sharpsburg
  • Kristen M. Bridgers of Tarboro
  • Molly N. Briley of Tarboro
  • Florecita A. Cruz Canseco of Tarboro
  • Angela O. Fenner of Tarboro
  • Brittany P. Linkous of Tarboro
  • Phillip A. Martin of Tarboro
  • Mallory E. Redman of Tarboro
  • Thomas M. Robbins of Tarboro
  • Corey R. Rountree of Tarboro
  • Kaitlyn E. Smith of Tarboro

To be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed 12 credit hours in an associate degree program and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must then maintain at least a 3.25 grade point average to remain in the group.