More From Community

September 02, 2018

A 4-Her from Edgecombe County attended the ninth annual North Carolina Association of County Commissioners Youth Summit, which was held Aug. 24 in Hickory.

North Carolina 4-H and the North Carolina Cooperative Extension Service partnered for…

youth voices 2018.jpg

September 01, 2018

On Aug. 30, 1978, the Concerned Citizens Association led by the Rev. Thomas L. Walker announced the end of the sanitation workers strike that began July 10 and also the end of the boycott of downtown businesses in support of reinstatement and legal exoneration of city sanitation worker Alexander…


August 31, 2018

As many of the adult volunteers at Nash UNC Health Care enjoyed a summer break, Junior Volunteers assumed their duties — greeting patients, escorting pet therapists, selling candy, and filing documents — but with a twist. The eight-week Junior Volunteer program also gave students a…


August 30, 2018

David Farris, president and CEO of the Rocky Mount Chamber of Commerce, will lead the 37th annual Day for Wesleyan Campaign starting Sept. 18.

A Day for Wesleyan is N.C. Wesleyan College’s largest annual fundraising event giving area businesses, friends of the college, faculty, staff and…

David Farris.jpg

August 29, 2018

N.C. Wesleyan College recently named Jason Boone as library circulation supervisor.

Boone has held various teaching positions and gained sales and customer service experience over the past 14 years in multiple industries.

In his new role at Wesleyan, Boone will supervise library student assistants,…


August 29, 2018

Most city of Rocky Mount offices and facilities will be closed on Monday in observance of Labor Day.

Tar River Transit will not operate Monday and the Imperial Centre for the Arts & Sciences will be closed.

The Booker T. Washington Community Center, R.M. Wilson Gym, Rocky Mount Senior…

August 28, 2018

Matthew Stevens recently received the 2018 Distinguished Service Award from the National Association of County Agriculture Agents during their Annual Meeting and Professional Improvement Conference held in Chattanooga, Tenn.

This award is given to agents with more than 10 years of service in…


August 27, 2018

Stephen Herring, religion, geography and development studies instructor at Edgecombe Community College, has been awarded the 2018-19 Keihin Endowed Faculty Chair.

The chair was endowed by Keihin Carolina System Technology through a $100,000 gift in 2007, and it rewards excellence in teaching.…


August 25, 2018

Have you ever met someone that was determined to overcome any obstacle?

Meet Brenda Freeman from Tarboro, who has suffered from lymphedema for a long while. Lymphedema is a chronic, long-term condition in which excess fluid (lymph) collects in tissues causing swelling. It can be very debilitating.…


August 24, 2018

The seventh annual Enfield Lions Club Horse Show will be held — rain or shine — on Aug. 25 at the Halifax County Livestock Arena on Dog Pound Road in Halifax.

“The weather forecast is excellent, so we expect a large turnout,” said Enfield Lions Club President Lenne Ward.…

149 stories in Community. Viewing 19 through 28.
«First Page   «Previous Page        
Page 2 of 15
        Next Page»   Last Page»