Early voting draws big turnout


Jan Robillard places her ballot in the voting machine Sept. 18 while participating in one-stop early voting at Braswell Memorial Library.


Staff Writer

Saturday, October 5, 2019

One-stop early voting for Rocky Mount elections has ended with more Rocky Mount residents casting their votes during the early election cycle than the entire number of votes cast during the last Rocky Mount mayoral election in 2015.

As of 4:30 p.m. Friday, 3,888 Nash County residents had cast votes for Rocky Mount mayor and city council seats and 1,610 Edgecombe County voters had cast votes for those offices for a total of 5,498 votes cast. During the last mayoral election in October 2015, 5,388 total votes were cast from both counties.

Many more votes are expected on Tuesday on Election Day. During the 2015 election, almost four times as many votes were cast on Election Day as were cast during early voting.

The polls will be open on Election Day from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Tuesday. Voters should go to their normal precinct polling stations.

The election Tuesday will be only for Rocky Mount municipal contests.

The mayoral contest is wide open as Mayor David Combs is stepping down after his current term. Candidates for mayor include Robert L. Alston, Kevin B. Jones, Sandy Roberson and Bronson Williams.

In Ward 1, Councilman Andre D. Knight is running against challenger Tarrick Pittman.

In Ward 3, Councilman Richard Joyner is running against challengers Nellene Richardson and Gwen Wilkins.

In Ward 4, T.J. Walker Jr. and Elaine B. Williams are vying for the open seat.

In Ward 5, Robert E. Cordell and Lige Daughtridge are competing for the chance to represent that open seat.

In Nash County, the polling stations that will be open for the Rocky Mount municipal elections are the Dunn Center on the campus of N.C. Wesleyan College, Benvenue Baptist Church, Parkwood Baptist Church, Englewood Baptist Church, Englewood United Methodist Church, Greater Joy Baptist Church, Braswell Memorial Library and the South Rocky Mount Community Center.

In Edgecombe County, the polling stations that will be open are Phillips Middle School, Johnson Elementary School, Edgecombe Community College, West Edgecombe Volunteer Fire Department, J.W. Parker Middle School and North End Missionary Baptist Church.

To find out which ward and precinct voters are in, they can go to https://vt.ncsbe.gov/RegLkup/ to input their name and find out their voter information. Voters who simply want to confirm the place where they should vote can enter their address in the search tool at https://vt.ncsbe.gov/PPLkup/.

The Nash County Board of Elections and the Edgecombe County Board of Elections also can answer questions about voter issues.