Hall of Fame names new inductees


Plaques of the most recent inductees in the Twin County Hall of Fame line a section of the museum on Tuesday at the Rocky Mount Event Center.


Staff Writer

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

The 10 members comprising the 16th annual Class of Inductees to the Twin County Hall of Fame have been named by Twin County Community Pride Inc.

This year’s class, which will be inducted on Nov. 7 at the Rocky Mount Events Center, includes a playwright-dramatist-wood artisan, an early advocate for solar energy and downtown renewal, a science educator, three business leaders, a poet, a Scout leader, two dedicated public servants and an award-winning ACC and professional football great.

The 2019 class includes Marilynn Anselmi, Lynell Bynum, Jessie Mae Jones, Rachel M. Joyner, Julius Peppers, Paul Peel, Parker Philips lll, Robert Ricks, Peter F. Varney, and Vernon F. Sechriest.

This year’s inductees come from both Edgecombe and Nash counties and include seven men and three women. Seven of the inductees are living and three will be inducted posthumously.

Tickets may be ordered through the website at www.tchof.org. No tickets will be sold at the door. For more information, call 252-977-1438.