City election races all contested


Staff Writer

Sunday, July 21, 2019

Rocky Mount is set for its busiest municipal election in recent history with every City Council seat up for election a contested race and a full field of candidates for mayor.

Four candidates are running to replace Mayor David Combs, who decided not to run this year after three terms. Bronson Williams filed July 5, Robert Lee Alston filed July 8, Sandy Roberson filed July 9 and Kevin Jones filed July 11.

Ward 1 Councilman Andre Knight is being challenged by local business owner Tarrick Pittman.

In Ward 3, the appointed incumbent faces two challengers as Councilman Richard Joyner runs against Nellene Richardson and Gwen Wilkins.

Ward 4 has two candidates vying to replace Councilwoman Lois Watkins: Elaine B. Williams, endorsed by state Rep. James Gailliard, and T.J. Walker, the grandson of the Rev. Thomas L. Walker.

Two candidates are competing to capture the Ward 5 seat left open by Councilman Tom Rogers, who is not seeking re-election: Lige Daughtridge and Robert Cordell.

One-Stop voting begins Sept. 18 and runs through Oct. 4.

In Nash County, polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday through Friday at the Nash County Board of Elections in Nashville and Braswell Memorial Library in Rocky Mount.

In Edgecombe County, polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday and 8 a.m. to noon Saturday, Sept. 21, at the Department of Social Services at 301 S. Fairview St. in Rocky Mount and the Edgecombe County Board of Elections in the Edgecombe County Administrative Building at 201 St. Andrews St. in Tarboro.

Election Day is Oct. 8.