Candidate filing period wraps up


Staff Writer

Saturday, July 20, 2019

NASHVILLE — Every race for the Rocky Mount City Council will be contested this year as candidate filing wraps up in the Twin Counties.

Robert Cordell filed to run for the Ward 5 seat opened by the decision by Councilman Tom Rogers not to run for re-election.

Cordell said he has a 30-point platform he is ready to share. He faces Lige Daughtridge for the seat.

Cordell joins 38 candidates filing this week, making for a total of 100 municipal candidates in Nash and Edgecombe counties since filing began July 5.

Castalia will see an extended filing period as one town board seat lacks a single candidate. The Nash County Board of Elections voted to extend the deadline another five days to noon Friday.

The following candidates filed this week to run in other municipalities in Nash County: Allen Daniels, Craig Johnson and Timothy C. Johnson for town commissioner in Bailey; James Alston and Sylvia Mann for town commissioner in Castalia; Bob Brown and George W. Griffin for town commissioner in Dortches; Danny Alford, Cherrye High Davis, J.W. McClenny, William Ward and Brenda L. West for town commissioner in Middlesex; Kenneth Lee Parker for mayor in Momeyer; Edward Jackson and Richard V. Matthews for town commissioner in Momeyer; Brenda Brown for mayor in Nashville; Lynne Hobbs and Dwight L. Jordan for town council in Nashville.

The following candidates filed this week to run for office in Edgecombe County: Mayor Linda Ingram filed for re-election in Conetoe; Teresa Summerlin for mayor in Leggett; Wil Barnes and Natasha Davis for town commissioner in Leggett; Brenda Harrell for mayor in Pinetops; Milton Bullock, William Earl Johnson, Rita Dancy, Alvin Lafon Jones and Calvin Sherrod for town commissioner in Princeville; Wilbert Lee Harrison for mayor in Speed; Joe Willie Jenkins III, Roberta Mercer, Betty Jo O’Neal Roberson and Leroy Candies for town commissioner in Speed; Al Braxton and Keith Moose Hale for town council in Tarboro.

Nancy Jones Taylor filed for town commissioner in Whitakers, which is in Nash and Edgecombe counties.

Becky Humphrey, Mary Jackson and David W. Pride are running for town commissioner in Sharpsburg, which is in Nash, Edgecombe and Wilson counties.

The Rocky Mount municipal election will be held Oct. 8. The other races will be decided on Nov. 5.