Nominations sought for Hall of Fame


Staff Writer

Saturday, March 16, 2019

Nominations are open for outstanding people in Nash and Edgecombe counties to be considered for induction into the Twin County Hall of Fame.

Rocky Mount Councilwoman Chris Miller, who is a past president of Twin County Community Pride, said she believes the awards event brings people together across both counties whether they’re black, white, well-educated or blue-collar folks.

Twin County Community Pride is soliciting nominations for the 2019 honor. Nominees must have made broad and lasting contributions to the betterment of the community or brought recognition to the community through their accomplishments, and of course, nominees must be or have been legal residents of Nash or Edgecombe counties, according to the organization’s website.

This year marks the 16th class of the Twin County Hall of Fame. A banquet for the new inductees will take place later this year.

Deadline for receipt of nominations is April 30. A completed nomination form can be mailed to TCCP Inc., P.O. Box 8441, Rocky Mount, NC 27804.

The 10 people inducted in 2018 are Dr. Robert Barbe and the Rev. Carolyn Barbe, Dr. Newsom Pittman Battle and Dr. Margaret White Battle, James Erastus Batts, Dr. Charles Marshall Coats, Janice Beavon Gravely, Lt. Col. James Mercer, Robert “Bob” Melton, Betsy B. Strandberg, Samuel A. Toler and Janice Bryant Howroyd.