Redistricting leaves voters confused


Staff Writer

Sunday, September 2, 2018

The Twin Counties is set for five state House and Senate races in just a little over a month from now.

A lot of readers, voters and even one candidate have expressed confusion about which General Assembly hopefuls are in what district after the dust settled after the state legislative redistricting fight earlier this year.

Nash County is divided into two state House districts and covered completely by one state Senate district, while Edgecome County is in one House district and one Senate district.

The following is a list of districts and candidates in Nash and Edgecombe counties based on information provided by John Kearney and Jerry Spruell, election directors for Nash and Edgecombe counties, respectively.

■ State House District 25 covers most of Nash County including Rocky Mount, Nashville, Whitakers and Sharpsburg.

Three candidates are vying for the seat left vacant by the retirement of state Rep. Jeff Collins, R-Nash.

Republican John Check, Democrat James Gailliard and Libertarian Nick Taylor face each other for the seat. Check and Gailliard live in Rocky Mount while Taylor lives in Nashville.

■ State House District 7 includes all of Franklin County and most of the southern end of Nash County, including parts of Spring Hope, Bailey and Middlesex.

State Rep. Bobbie Richardson, D-Franklin, faces Republican challenger Lisa Barnes, a Nash County commissioner. Richardson lives in Louisburg; Stone lives in Spring Hope.

■ State Senate District 11 contains all of Nash County and the northern portion of Johnston County.

State Sen. Rick Horner, R-Nash, whose current district covers Nash and Wilson counties, is running against Democrat Albert R. Pacer of Zebulon. Horner lives in Bailey.

■ State House District 23 covers Edgecombe and Martin counties.

State Rep. Shelley Willingham, D-Edgecombe, faces Republican Claiborne Holtzman. Willingham and Holtzman live in Rocky Mount.

■ State SenateDistrict 4 covers Edgecombe, Wilson and Halifax counties.

State Sen. Toby Finch, D-Wilson, who currently represents Nash County in the old district, moves over to face Republican Richard Scott and Libitarian Jesse Shearin. Finch lives in Wilson; Scott and Shearin live in Scotland Neck.

Editor’s Note: The Telegram will have a series of stories about local and state contests each Sunday leading up to Election Day on Nov. 6.