State recognizes job safety records


Staff Writer

Wednesday, May 16, 2018

The N.C. Department of Labor recently honored local businesses for outstanding on-the-job safety achievements in 2017 during it’s annual Rocky Mount Safety Awards banquet at the Rose Hill Conference Center in Nashville.

N.C. Labor Commissioner Cherie Berry said it was an honor for her to travel throughout the state to recognize employers who are making a commitment to their employees’ safety and health.

“Over the past 16 years, North Carolina has experienced a declining injury and illness rate, which now rests at an all-time low 2.5 per full-time workers for private industry,” Berry said. “These employers continue to make North Carolina workplaces some of the safest in the country.”

Under the program rules, companies must have been free of fatal accidents at the site for which the award is given to be eligible. The gold award criteria was based on a days away, restricted or transferred (DART) rate that is at least 50 percent below the statewide rate for its industry. The rate includes cases of days away from work, restricted activity or job transfer.

The Silver Award was based on cases with days away from work. They’re recorded when the worker misses at least one full day, not including the day of the injury. The employer had to attain an incidence rate for cases with days away from work that is at least 50 percent below the rate for its industry.

The Million-Hour Awards were given to employers that had one million hours or several hours of employees that worked with no time lost because of accidents. Keihin Carolina System Technology LLC had the highest at nine million hours from April 15, 2007, through Jan. 18, 2018. Freedom Industries Inc. followed with three million hours from Jan. 1, 2008, through Dec. 31, 2017, and Pfizer had one million hours from Nov. 30, 2017, through Feb. 8, 2018.

The recipients of the other Rocky Mount Safety Awards were:

Siver Awards

■ First-year winners: Lilley International Inc., Rocky Mount; Northampton Peanut Co.

■ Second-consecutive-year winners: Rocky Mount Gas Division; Rocky Mount Police Department.

■ Third-consecutive-year winner: Safelite Glass Corp.

Gold Awards

■ First-year winners: Berry Global, Rocky Mount; C&W Services, city of Rocky Mount, Wasterwater Treatment Division; city of Rocky Mount, Water Treatment Plants; Rocky Mount Housing Authority, Weeks Armstrong Homes-AMP 2; Rocky Mount Housing Authority, West End Terrace-AMP 1.

■ Second-year-consecutive winners: Carolina Reset Home; Rocky Mount Cemetery Division; Rocky Mount Fire Department; Cummins Rocky Mount Engine Plant; Gregory Poole Equipment Co.Industrial Division;  Roanoke Rapids Saintary District Water Treatment Plant; Rocky Mount Electric Motor LLC.

■ Third-year-consecutive-winners: ABB Inc., Pinetops; Rocky Mount Community Code Enforcement; Rocky Mount Fleet Maintenance Division; Piedmont Natural Gas, Tarboro Resource Center; Roanoke Rapids Sanitary District Distribution & Collection.

■ Fourth-year-consecutive winner: Freedom Industries Inc.; West Fraser, Seaboard Lumber Mill.

■ Fifth-year-consecutive winner: city of Rocky Mount, finance/customer service/warehouse department.

■ Sixth-year-consecutive winners: Advanced Technology Services, Inc., Site 423 Eaton in Middlesex; Southern Mattress Co., Inc.

■ Seventh-year-consecutive winner: Rocky Mount Technical Services-Water Resources.

■ 13th-year-consecutive winners: Rocky Mount Planning/Inspection department; Kennametal in Roanoke Rapids.

■ 14th-year-consecutive winners: Keihin Carolina System Technology LLC; Roanoke Rapids Sanitary District, Administration Office.

■ 16th-year-consecutive winners: Honeywell International Inc.; N.C. Department of Commerce Division of Workforce Solutions, Roanoke Rapids Workforce Office; N.C. Department of Commerce, Division of Workforce Solutions, Rocky Mount Workforce Office.