County board chairmen re-elected


Staff Writer

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Board leaders in Nash and Edgecombe counties were re-elected to their posts this week.

Nash County board Chairman Robbie Davis and Edgecombe County board Chairman Leonard Wiggins were re-elected by fellow board members during commissioners meetings Monday night in Nashville and Tarboro.

Davis enters the second year of his second go-around as chairman. He's been a commissioner for 16 years.

Davis, who was nominated for the position by former board Chairman Fred Belfield, said the board is working together better than ever.

The commissioners have made great strides in capital projects and expanding the county's water system, Davis said of his time as chairman.

"Our top priority is attracting industry and jobs," Davis said. "Our next priority, right up there with jobs, is improving our relationship with the school board so we can begin work on much-needed capital improvements."

Wiggins said he’s pleased with the board showing continued confidence in him.

“I just want to thank the board for the opportunity to continue to serve,” Wiggins said. “I’m humbled.”

Wiggins, 80, has been chairman for a decade and a commissioner for 23 years. He ran unopposed last year and in 2012. He has soundly defeated opponents in previous elections.

The county has a diverse board with diverse opinions, but once a decision is made it becomes a team effort, said Wiggins, whose election as chairman was unanimous.

Nash County board Vice Chariman Wayne Outlaw and Edgecombe County board Vice Chairman Jonathan Felton also were re-elected to their posts.