Incumbents file for re-election


Staff Writer

Saturday, July 15, 2017

Several Twin Counties candidates, mostly incumbents, have filed to run for municipal elections this fall.

It’s been a mixed bag so far: Busy in Edgecombe County and slow in Nash County, according to Jerry Spruell and John Kearney, the elections directors for those respective counties.

“I think the filing has been very active so far for the first week,” Spruell said. “I do expect more filings within the last six days.”

In Rocky Mount, which is in both counties, incumbents Lamont Wiggins, W.B. Bullock and Chris Carroll Miller filed to run for city council.

In Nash County, Brian Hinkle filed for commissioner in Castalia; LuHarvey Lewis Jr. filed for mayor and Harold Meacombs filed for commissioner in Middlesex; Martha Lucas filed for commissioner in Momeyer; Larry Taylor and Michael Coleman filed for town council; and Levell Langley filed for mayor in Red Oak.

Edgecombe County had a busier filing week with challengers joining incumbents on the ballot.

In Tarboro, incumbent town Councilman Joe Pitt has been challenged by Al Braxton, a retired police officer.

Othar Woodard, Steve Burnette, John Jenkins, Roy Gray Sr., Sabrina Bynum and Quincy Robinson filed for town council. Woodard, Burnette and Jenkins are incumbents. Bynum was appointed to the Ward 7 seat after the death of Taro Knight. Gray and Robinson are also running for the Ward 7 seat.

In Conetoe, incumbent Linda Ingram and challenger Wanda Naylor filed for mayor. Wilson Jones, Jesse Earl Petteway and Ricky Wayne Lynch filed for commissioner.

In Princeville, Bobbie Jones, the incumbent, and Milton Bullock, a town commissioner, both filed to run for mayor. Incumbent JoeRoam Myrick filed for commissioner in Ward 3 and Calvin Sherrod, a challenger, filed for commissioner in Ward 4.

Barbara Jean Taylor, Suzanne Coker Craig and Joyce Tolson filed for Pinetops town commissioner seats.

In Whitakers, which straddles Nash and Edgecombe counties, Doris Lindsey, Sammy Lee Hopkins Sr. and Al Wright filed for commissioner.

In Sharpsburg, which sits in Nash, Edgecombe and Wilson counties, incumbent Randy Weaver filed for mayor and Maurice Garret and Linda Virgil, both challengers, filed for commissioner.

Candidate filings are open through Friday.

Registered voters wishing to run for office should appear at the Board of Elections office during the filing period, complete the necessary paperwork and pay the filing fee. To be an eligible candidate, a registered voter must be a resident of the municipality in which they are filing. Rocky Mount, Tarboro and Princeville candidates must live in the appropriate ward.

Candidates who are filing for office in a municipality that crosses the county line must file at the Board of Elections office in their county of residence.

The Edgecombe County Board of Elections is located in the County Administration Building on St. Andrews Street in Tarboro. The Nash County Board of Elections is located in the Nash County Agriculture Center on Eastern Avenue in Nashville.