All-state teams announced; Knight named to list


Southern Nash’s Zonovan Knight runs with the ball during a game this past September.


Sports Writer

Friday, January 4, 2019

The North Carolina Associated Press all-state prep football team was announced on Friday, with Indian Trail Sun Valley quarterback Sam Howell receiving player of the year honors for offense and Charlotte Vance linebacker Power Echols receiving the same for defense. 

Former Southern Nash running back Zonovan Knight, now officially an N.C. State freshman, was up for nomination for player of the year but was beat out by Howell, who is committed to play at North Carolina. Knight was named one of two running backs on the all-state team alongside Elijah Burris of Mount Holly Mountain Island Charter. 

Coach of the year honors went to East Forsyth’s Todd Willert, who led his team to an undefeated record and a 4-A state title, and Travion Canada of Reidsville was named athlete of the year.  

No members of Tarboro’s 1-AA state title team made the 32-player list, despite a second-straight 15-0 season. Linebacker Melik Ward was up for nomination. The last local high schooler to take home player of the year honors was Todd Gurley, who won on offense in 2011. Before that, it was North Edgecombe’s Milton Shaw in 1991. 

Here is the full team, via the AP. 


Quarterback — Sam Howell, Indian Trail Sun Valley, sr.

Running back — Elijah Burris, Mount Holly Mountain Island Charter, jr.; Zonovan Knight, Southern Nash, sr.

Wide receivers — Elijah Bowick, Charlotte Myers Park, sr.; Donavon Greene, Mount Airy, sr.; CJ Johnson, Greenville Conley, sr.

Tight end — Kam Walker, Canton Pisgah, sr.; Andre White, Charlotte Vance, sr. (tie).

Offensive linemen — Anthony Carter, Matthews Butler, jr.; Larry Dowdy, Belmont South Point, sr.; CJ Elmonus, Asheville Reynolds, sr.; Triston Miller, Charlotte Country Day, sr.; Parker Moorer, Charlotte Mallard Creek, sr.


Defensive linemen — Traveon Freshwater, Elizabeth City Northeastern, sr.; Derek Green, Southwest Onslow, sr.; Savion Jackson, Clayton, sr.; Payton Page, Greensboro Dudley, so.

Linebackers — Power Echols, Charlotte Vance, so.; Jaylon Scott, Shelby, sr.; Drake Thomas, Wake Forest Heritage, sr.

Defensive backs —Tyus Fields, Cornelius Hough, sr.; Jakobe Harris, Southwest Guilford, sr.; Xavier Marshall, Charlotte Vance, sr.; Khalid Martin, East Forsyth, sr.; Jaheim Mullen, Gastonia Huss, sr.; William (J.R.) Walker, Clayton, sr.; Lannden Zanders, Shelby Crest, sr. (Fields, Marshall, Mullen and Walker tie).

Special teams

Kicker — Joshua Karty, Western Alamance, jr.

Punter — Conner Maynard, Cornelius Hough, sr.

Returner — Emery Simmons, Hope Mills South View, sr.; Skylin Thomas, Lenoir Hibriten, sr. (tie).