School district honors employees with Edge Awards


ECPS Teacher of the Year Lee Harrison, center, stands with, from left, Teacher of the Year finalists Cassandra Cherry, Samonica Smith, Frank Matthews and Jennifer Chesso.


From Contributed Reports

Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Edgecombe County Public Schools recently held its inaugural Edge Awards ceremony to celebrate and recognize outstanding staff members in Keihin Auditorium on the campus of Edgecombe Community College in Tarboro.

“Employees in various categories were recognized for going above and beyond, having impeccable work ethic, and for being vital members of their school communities. It was a wonderful evening of celebrating excellence in our schools,” said Matthew Mayo, the district’s director of technology, who organized the event.

During the ceremony, students participated in talent showcases. Student performers were Martin Millennium Academy’s Jeanyzha Jenkins, SouthWest Edgecombe’s Harley Abrams and West Edgecombe’s Emma League.

The first annual ECPS Edge Award winners and finalists were:

Teacher Assistant of the Year

■ Winner: Linda White-Edmonds, SouthWest Edgecombe High School

■ Angela Harper, Stocks Elementary School

■ Tammy Pierce, W.A. Pattillo Middle School

Classified Employee of the Year

■ Winner: Etheleen Wilkins, Edgecombe Early College High School

■ Nai Barnes, Central Services

■ Amanda Davis, G.W. Carver Elementary School

■ Larry Killebrew, South Edgecombe Middle School

■ Terry Williams, SouthWest Edgecombe High School

Bus Driver of the Year

■ Winner: Timmy Knight, G.W. Bulluck Elementary School

■ Phyllis Battle, G.W. Carver Elementary School

■ Minnie Bulluck, W.A. Pattillo Middle School

Certified Employee of the Year

■ Winner: Rebecca Stokes, West Edgecombe Middle School

■ Jaime Axthelm, Phillips Middle School

■ Kimberly Collette, North Edgecombe High School

■ Sabrina Lancaster, North Edgecombe/Pattillo Middle

■ Angela Pompey, Central Services

Cutting Edge Award

■ Winner: Melissa Altemose, W.A. Pattillo Middle School

■ James Guy, Edgecombe Early College High School

■ Erika Sanger, South Edgecombe Middle School

Lifetime Achievement Award

■ Winner: Venus Bradley, SouthWest Edgecombe High School

■ Ben Harrison, W.A. Pattillo Middle School

■ Josephine Macon, Coker-Wimberly/Phillips/North Edgecombe

Assistant Principal of the Year

■ Winner: Kelsey Ballard, West Edgecombe Middle School

■ Mary Bridgers, South Edgecombe Middle School

■ Julie Simpson, W.A. Pattillo Middle School

Teacher of the Year

■ Winner: Lee Harrison, Edgecombe Early College High School

■ Cassandra Cherry, Phillips Middle School

■ Jennifer Chesson, West Edgecombe Middle School

■ Frank Matthews, SouthWest Edgecombe High School

■ Samonica Smith, G.W. Bulluck Elementary School

School of the Year

■ Winner: West Edgecombe Middle School

■ G.W. Bulluck Elementary School

■ Phillips Middle School

■ W.A. Pattilllo Middle School

Superintendent’s Award

■ Paula Flythe, Central Services