United Way recognizes Edgecombe schools

United Way_awards.JPG

School board Chairwoman Evelyn Wilson, G.W. Bulluck Elementary School Campaign Leader Angie Starkweather, Martin Millennium Academy Principal Sylvia Anthony-McGeachy, Tarboro High School Principal Craig Harris, Superintendent Dr. Valerie Bridges and United Way Tar River Region Executive Director Ginny Morhbutter celebrate Egecombe COunty Public Schools' contributions to the 2017-18 campaign.


From Contributed Reports

Sunday, February 11, 2018

Edgecombe County Public Schools was recognized at the January Board of Education meeting by United Way Tar River Region for its contributions to the 2017-18 campaign.

Mike Smith, United Way Tar River Vice president of resource development and  Executive Director Ginny Mohrbutter praised the school district for contributing $12,094 to this year’s campaign.

Special recognition awards were presented to schools attaining the highest total contribution per classification. Schools receiving those awards were G.W. Bulluck Elementary School, Martin Millennium Academy and Tarboro High School.

Smith said the contributions from Edgecombe County Public Schools will help support thousands of our local citizens.

“United Way works in all communities across the twin counties. Through United Way donations, we are able to fund 36 local health and human service programs in partnership with 24 nonprofit agencies as well as assist with hundreds of yearly information, referral and volunteer inquiries,” Smith said.

“This support helps thousands of our local citizens each year, improving quality of life for our children, adults and families,” he added.

The 2017-18 School Campaign Leaders are:

■ Angie Starkweather, G.W. Bulluck Elementary School

■ Frankie Rose, G.W. Carver Elementary School

■ Jacqueline Boone, Coker-Wimberly Elementary School

■ Brandy Chappell, Martin Millennium Academy

■ Kimberly Collette, North Edgecombe High School

■ Lauren Lampron, W.A. Pattillo Middle School

■ Raven Cole, Phillips Middle School

■ Hannah Rountree, Princeville Elementary School

■ Selena Hale, Stocks Elementary School

■ Billy Strother, South Edgecombe Middle School

■ Sandy Quincy, SouthWest Edgecombe High School

■ Pippa Boyd, Tarboro High School

■ Rebecca Stokes, West Edgecombe Middle School