Faith Christian troupe recognized at theater festival


Students from Faith Christian School's Kids of Faith recently earned recognition at the 2018 Junior Theater Festival Atlanta


From Contributed Reports

Friday, January 26, 2018

Students from Faith Christian School's Kids of Faith earned recognition at the 2018 Junior Theater Festival Atlanta from Jan. 12-14 at the Cobb Galleria Centre in Atlanta.

The 36 students of Faith Christian School's Kids of Faith, ages 8-17, presented selections from Disney's “The Little Mermaid Jr.” for composer, director, producer and music director David Weinstein and Kennedy Center director Deirdre Kelly-Lavrakas.

“Faith Christian School offered very strong performances by each performer,” Kelley-Lavrakas said. “They enjoyed performing and we enjoyed watching.”

Faith Christian School is a private academy dedicated to religious teaching. The theater group at Faith Christian School is inclusive and works to instill a love of theater and the arts in its students. All students who maintain passing grades at C or better are allowed to participate and learn about theater. The group is active in their community and known for its fairly large casts.

The group has had considerable success at past Junior Theater Festivals.

At the 2017 Junior Theater Festival, Faith Christian School’s Jacob Smith was one of 11 students named to Tech Theater All-Stars.

In 2013, educator Danelle Cauley from Faith Christian School was awarded a Freddie G Fellowship, in which exceptional teachers receive an all-expense-paid trip to New York City for four days of master classes Broadway greats and a $5,000 grant to put toward his or her theater program. The event is underwritten and hosted by Music Theatre International’s Freddie Gershon and his wife Myrna Gershon.

In 2012, Cauley earned a Freddie G Outstanding Achievement at the Broadway Junior Slam Award.

The Junior Theater Festival Atlanta united more than 6,000 students and educators from 130 educational musical theater groups representing 30 U.S. states, the District of Columbia, Australia, New Zealand and Canada.