Rocky Mount Deltas to celebrate 70 years


From Contributed Reports

Monday, March 20, 2017

The Rocky Mount Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc., established on April 4, 1947, by Eastern Regional Director Soror Muriel Johnson, is celebrating 70 years of sisterhood, scholarship and service.

The public is cordially invited to join them in observing this momentous occasion. Originally, the chapter was founded as Gamma Kappa Sigma because all chapters used Greek names at that time. After the 21 charter members organized the chapter, sorors from surrounding areas became affiliated. Marguerite Carson Armstrong was the first president.

From its beginning, the organization has been dedicated to a program of community service and committed to continuous efforts to enhance the world in which we live. Through expert leadership and commendable commitment on local, state, regional and national levels, the Rocky Mount Alumnae Chapter has and continues to fulfill the sorority’s Five Point Programmatic Thrust: Economic Development, Educational Development, Physical and Mental Health, Political Awareness and International Awareness and Involvement.

This chapter has continuously rendered public service in Rocky Mount, Edgecombe County and Nash County. It is one of 1,000-plus chapters of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, founded in January 1913 and located in the United States and abroad. With a membership of 125 Deltas, the Rocky Mount Chapter has worked and partnered with businesses and other organizations in the area to make a better lifestyle for all its citizens.

The chapter has been the recipient of several honors and awards in the community for public service, including the Community Organization Award for outstanding achievement in human relations, recognition for volunteer work with the Red Cross and for Distinguished Community Service in the fight against HIV/AIDS. In addition, notable work with the Mental Health Association, Cancer II Prevention Survey, N.C. Special Olympics has been done. The chapter has a lifetime membership with the NAACP.

On the local level, chapter involvement includes civic, education and social projects including but not limited to Sickle Cell Anemia, Operation Santa Claus, Boys & Girls Clubs of the Tar River Region, Communities in Schools, Martin Luther King Oratorical Contest and Unity Breakfast, Jabberwock (scholarships totaling approximately $1 million), Visions Inc. ( senior citizens day care), United Negro College Fund, American Field Service Sponsor, Delta Day at the State Capitol, Delta Days on Capitol Hill, Friends of Braswell Memorial Library, My Sister’s House, Golf Tournament, Habitat For Humanity International, Read-in for Tots, Volunteer Income Tax Assistance, Homeownership Initiative, United Community Ministries Shelter, Relay for Life and the American Heart Walk. One of the most rewarding programs is teaching and mentoring boys and girls: Dealta Academy for middle school girls, Delta GEMS for junior and senior high school girls and EMBODI for junior and senior high school boys.

Soros Jennie D. Taylor, Eastern Regional director, Edythe R. Tweedy, South Atlantic Regional director, and Mary B. Sutton, South Atlantic Regional director, represented the chapter well. Other members, too numerous to name, provided excellent service as officers and committee members on all levels.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority is made up of “A Sisterhood Called To Serve.” The Rocky Mount Alumnae Chapter is honored to have served the community in numerous capacties for the past 70 years.

Celebrating the theme: “RMAC-Treasuring the Past and Embracing the Future” and honoring Dr. Paulette C. Walker, national president and keynote speaker, are highlights of this event. The schedule of events include:

■ Rededication Ceremony at 7 p.m. April 7 at Mt. Zion First Baptist Church, 320 W. Thomas Street, which is closed to the public;

■ Anniversary Luncheon at 11 a.m. April 8 at the R.T. McCarter Fellowship Hall, 225 S. Glendale Ave., with speaker Dr. Paulette C. Walker. Tickets for non-Delta guests are $50;

■ Jazz Set at 7:30 p.m. April 8 at Booker T. Theater, 170 E. Thomas Street;

■ Sunday Worship at 11 a.m. at Morning Star Church of Star, 225 S. Glendale Avenue.

Chapter President Natalie Brooks and the membership invite all to join them during their 70th Anniversary and thank you in advance for all the support given. Special gratitude goes to the Anniversary Steering Committee, Mary B. Sutton, chairwoman, and Katrina Joyner, co-chairwoman, for superbly organizing this event.

For questions or more information, call 910-987-5744 or 252-904-6116.