ECC Honor Society inducts 26 students


New Phi Theta Kappa honor society members at Edgecombe Community College include, front row, from left, Ruby Estabane, Gloria Whitaker, Kelsey Owens, Logan Burnette, Haley Bain, Taylor Redman, Brenda Goodwin, Megan Ecker, Staton Dupree, and back row, from left, Sa’Quin Winstead, Saul Cisneros, Allison Parks, Mona Perkins, Amy Jilcott, Mack Cherry, Ronese Whitley and Holden Harrell.


From Contributed Reports

Friday, December 16, 2016

Edgecombe Community College’s Alpha Omega Nu chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted 26 students into its membership during a recent induction ceremony held on the Tarboro campus.

Fall 2016 Phi Theta Kappa inductees are Haley Bain, Keri Barrett, Logan Burnette, Kimberly Carter, Mack Cherry, Saul Cisneros, Toni Coady, Staton Dupree, Megan Ecker, Tonya Edmond, Ruby Estabane, Bailey Glover, Brenda Goodwin, Holden Harrell, Tekeyia Hinton, Amy Jilcott, Kelsey Owens, Bradley Parker, Allison Parks, Mona Perkins, Taylor Redman, Madison Scott, MarQuella Thompson, Gloria Whitaker, Ronese Whitley and Sa’Quin Winstead.

The guest speaker at the induction ceremony was Jennifer Derby, early childhood education instructor. Derby received the college’s 2016-17 Keihin Endowed Faculty Chair, which rewards excellence in teaching. Tamara Frank-Pourvady, a tutor at ECC, serves as advisor to the honor society.

Phi Theta Kappa is an honor society for students attending two-year schools. To be a member of Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed 12 credit hours in an associate degree program and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must then maintain at least a 3.25 grade point average to remain in the group.